About Me — Amanda Kay Oaks

Amanda Kay Oaks
About Me Stories
Published in
2 min readFeb 12, 2021

--

Welcome to the 2023 update of my About Me Story!

On Twitter, where brevity reigns supreme, I sum myself up as: Freelance writer, runner, book witch, dog mom, and baking enthusiast.

While that’s great place to start, a list of labels only gets you so far in learning about someone. In addition to the above, I…

  1. Left my day job in Student Affairs in 2023 to focus on building a freelance writing career.
  2. Fill my phone with pictures of Azula, my Blue Heeler puppy with a personality fitting her Avatar: The Last Airbender namesake a little too well
  3. Am, astrologically speaking, a Pisces sun with a Virgo moon, which explains why I react to my emotional nature by using organization and structure as my emotional security blanket. My rising sign is Saggitarius so you’ll catch me channeling my adventurous spirit now and again.
  4. Am originally from Cincinnati, Ohio, but currently live in Pittsburgh
  5. Love a good buffalo chicken calzone (but still don’t fully understand why so many Pittsburgh restaurants put fries in them)

Some of the greatest joys in my life come from books, running, yoga, learning about astrology, tarot, and other witchy things, and baking. I write a great deal about these pursuits and what they add to my life.

--

--

Amanda Kay Oaks
About Me Stories

Pittsburgh-based writer & wearer of many metaphorical hats. Making words about books, pop culture, witchery, health, travel, and more! She/her.