About Me — Annapurani

Annapurani Vaidyanathan
About Me Stories
Published in
3 min readApr 13, 2021

--

Seize the moment, my friend, there’s no better time than now!

Hello, I am Annapurani, a typical 27-year-old who can wolf down packets of M&M’s before you bat those eyelids.

Annapurani Vaidyanathan

If I were to describe myself, here are some phrases I would use…

Eccentric. Impulsive. Unpredictable. Holds hands with trouble. Jack of all arts. Hoards books for a living and sometimes reads them too (when she is not sleeping). Never gets tired of procrastinating.

What I do

I am a data journalist based out of India. I am an electronics and instrumentation engineer by qualification, I went on to work as a test engineer for four-plus years in the software industry, before proceeding to pursue my post-graduation in business and finance journalism.

I can speak and understand three languages — Tamil, English and Hindi. I am also learning Punjabi, French, Spanish and Esperanto. I have a knack for picking up new hobbies with a lot of excitement and dropping them mid-way either because something new has caught my eye, or I am just too lazy to be bothered. My goal to learn to write the Urdu alphabet is one such.

A Federer fan through and through

I love watching sports, tennis being my favorite among them. Roger Federer is my first and only idol and it will be a dream come true if I get to meet him someday. I watch and re-watch all his matches (sometimes multiple times in a day) without fail. Every year, on his birthday, I write a poem on my Facebook/Blog/Twitter page as a tribute to him and tag him with the hope that he chances upon them. In 2021, when he chose to skip the Australian Open for the first time in 22 years, I built a Chrome Extension that displays some interesting trivia about him at the Australian Open, every time the user opens a new tab. I also developed an app using Glide, which has a collection of videos of his 2020 tourney, highlights from his past AO matches and my favorite Federer moments from the AO (such as his winning speech, lap of honor, etc).

My rendezvous with words and numbers

Writing is a skill I have always wanted to put into use in some form. I enjoy writing poetry, primarily, and my pieces have been published in forums such as the Literary Yard and the Inframe Magazine. I also sporadically publish my opinions as blog posts — here’s one on what I thought about the reaction to the Indian Matchmaking show on Netflix.

I am always restless, looking for something new to read about or learn from. Numbers erase that unease in me. I try to converge my passion words and my number-crunching skills into data stories/infographics that make statistics fun and easy to understand. For instance, here’s a handbook on Indian Agriculture that I helped put together.

I intend to write poetry, honest accounts of my experiences from life, about data, tech, coding, and almost everything on the face of the earth, here. And I look forward to reading and learning from all of you too!

Cheers!

--

--