About Me — Brandon Roby

Brandon Roby
About Me Stories
Published in
5 min readApr 10, 2022

“Music is … A higher revelation than all Wisdom & Philosophy” -Ludwig van Beethoven

My name is Brandon Roby. I didn’t want to start with that sentence, but I guess it makes the most sense.

I am a 24-year-old 4th-grade teacher from the United States. Every day for a while now, I’ve felt like there were so many ideas jumbled up in my head, so I decided to start putting them down and sharing them with others.

My Family

I am married to the love of my life, and I know she’ll see this so just know I love you and appreciate you supporting me with everything I do.

We have a dog and two cats, and we often joke about how we ended up with three pets when only two years ago we only had one. We love them very much and they add so much to our lives. Pictures are below!

The black cat is Dany (almost 3 yrs old, first “born”), the orange is Bronny (1.5 yrs old, adopted second), and the goofy looking guy on the sidewalk is Apollo (1 yr old and some change, most recently added to the family).

Dany (3 yrs old) and me
Bronny (1.5 yrs old)
Apollo (1+ yr old) and my wife

My Job

I have written briefly about my job as a teacher and definitely plan to further in the future, but my job is my passion. I get the privilege to work with some of the most interesting people in our society. I am an aspiring principal, which I find a driving force for me.

Am I the most enthusiastic teacher in the world? No. Am I the most accomplished? In my second year–hell no! But I love what I do, and I want to do it better each and every day.

If my students should see this, I hope they know this, too. They mean the world to me, and it saddens me that people are leaving this profession for reasons outside of them, the ones who truly matter.

On Medium

Medium at first was a passive platform for me, to read what other people had to say and dream of being able to share my own thoughts in the same way. So I went ahead and started and didn’t bother checking with anyone to see whether I should or shouldn’t.

Like (almost) everyone on here, I love to write. I have since I was young, but not too young. I think there is a point where one realizes the beauty of the written language, and the strength of a writer comes in shaping that beauty to fit his or her own vision.

My goals on Medium are to share my thoughts with the world. I mean, they do no good staying in my head, and if they can do something, they should. I want to reach people, and in a way that connects me with them rather than moving us apart.

I have read plenty of things here that give a sense of superiority to whoever is writing, and seem to separate the reader from it by almost putting up a wall. Why not keep the wall but allow everyone to see over it into the chaos that is ever-present and familiar to each of us?

What Topics to Expect From Me

Education, as I mentioned, is a passion for me. I want to continue writing about teachers’ experiences both large and small-scale.

I have a degree in philosophy and feel very strongly about finding new ways to describe the world along with myself, so more philosophical thought pieces are definitely in my ideas bin.

Journaling and other helpful habits are very important to me. I have already written about my favorite journal to use, and plan on giving more tips, ideas, and other thoughts about habits that I have tried and either stuck with or left behind.

My most visited subreddit is r/iOSsetups, and I change the way I organize my phone almost daily. So, I have a lot of ideas about different ways to do this, interesting apps to use, and above all, why I have my phone set up a certain way.

Fiction is also a topic that I am passionate about, both in reading and writing. I am working on short stories and scenes for stories constantly, and plan to put some of them here for people to enjoy. The first I have published here is about a madman.

I make music on FL Studio as well and definitely plan to do some articles on music production, making beats, how to use the program, etc. A link to a video of one is here!

(Let me know in the responses if there is anything you might like to see me write about specifically!)

Photo by Dollar Gill on Unsplash

What Makes Me Unique?

If you want to get real, we are all unique…

Seriously though, even if experiences are the same between people, the circumstances and context are NEVER the same, nor is the aggregate of those experiences. There is no person who has had the exact same experiences as you (or me). That may be a cop-out answer, but it has to be true.

I have and still do struggle at times with mental health issues, currently go to therapy regularly, and am a damn good Mario Kart player.

I may not be the most interesting person in the world, but I do have things to say, and I am looking forward to sharing them with you and everyone here on Medium!

Photo by Cláudio Luiz Castro on Unsplash

Final Thoughts

My favorite poem is titled Oh, Why Should the Spirit of Mortal Be Proud? By William Knox. I originally found this while reading Lincoln’s Melancholy two years ago, a fantastic depiction of a side of Lincoln that many people might not be aware of.

I appreciate anyone who has read up to this point, and am very much looking forward to continuing my journey here on Medium!

Leave a clap, a comment to say hi, or give a follow if you’re feeling generous. I would also love to connect with any and everyone who sees this on Twitter!

--

--

Brandon Roby
About Me Stories

Writing about my personal journey, education, and much more! \\ notes on a page, weapons of rebirth