About Me — Caitlin McColl

Girl with a dragon tattoo

Caitlin McColl
About Me Stories

--

author 2024

Update: this article has been updated as of May 2024!

I was invited to write for this publication by one of the editors, as they said they loved my writing! It was nice to be recognized, and I said I was happy to contribute to this great publication. I’d heard of this publication, of course, as some of my followers have written their About Me stories on here, but had never submitted.

I have to say, the thought of me writing about myself is…a challenge, to say the least.

Like trying to talk up your skills and abilities in a job interview. No one wants to be like: look how awesome and amazing I am! Or maybe that’s just me.

Maybe it’s because I don’t think of myself as awesome or amazing. Or maybe just a teensy bit awesome and a smidgen amazing, but…not much, really.

Also, I’m an introvert. We don’t like to draw attention to ourselves often. It’s like when you’re in a classroom and the teacher says the dreaded words: “let’s go around the class and introduce ourselves”. I’d feel that awful dread in the pit of my stomach, waiting anxiously for my turn to introduce myself to everyone.

So writing “about me’s” doesn’t come easily. Being put in the spotlight, so to speak goes against every fiber of introvert being.

--

--

Caitlin McColl
About Me Stories

Writer on mental health, grief & loss, mindfulness, running, life musings (+ fiction and poetry!). ❤️coffee & dogs. Vancouver 🇨🇦