About Me — Caroline Mitchell

Caroline Mitchell
About Me Stories
Published in
6 min readApr 2, 2024

--

How I went from nothing to selling two million books.

Caroline Mitchell as a young girl sitting on a wall in Ireland, holding a puppy
That’s me on the left. I was nicknamed ‘Dr Dolittle’ and frequently took in unwanted puppies and strays.

Impossible Dream

Looking back, it seems like an impossible dream. How did I go from nothing to becoming a New York Times, Washington Post and USA today bestselling author? This was without any contacts in the industry or a university degree.

Image of canal bridge in Gallen, Ferbane
My homeplace. Gallen, Ferbane, Republic of Ireland

Humble Beginnings

I grew up in the heart of the countryside in Ireland in an old school house next to the canal. Our big family wasn’t rich, but we were happy. We didn’t have big aspirations. I wanted to be a vet but was told I’d ‘need brains’ to do something like that. To be fair, I didn’t work hard in school. I was a constant daydreamer and my report cards reflected it, stating: ‘daydream is Caroline’s middle name,’ and ‘If Caroline focused on her studies as much as she did looking out the window, she’d be fine.’ I left school at age seventeen to work in a factory.

The Police

I dreamed of making something of my life and moved to England with my husband and children. You didn’t need a degree to join the police back then. My mother was so proud when I was accepted. I’ll always…

--

--

Caroline Mitchell
About Me Stories

NYT, USA Today, Washington Post and international #1 bestselling thriller author with 2M books sold. Ex-police. Writing course provider. www.carolinemitchell.co