About Me — Clavia Fidelity

Clavia Fidelity
About Me Stories
Published in
3 min readSep 30, 2022
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/african-american-female-sitting-inside-cardboard-box-with-laptop-3872364/

Answering questions like “tell me who you are” will always be a difficult question for me. Who I am mostly can’t fit into a two minutes conversation because I’m a lot of things. But the side of me you see depends on who you are to me.

I was going through my old Samsung device when I stumbled upon this article I wrote on my note. I wrote it in April 2020, during a difficult moment in my life.

I didn’t have a job, there was a pandemic and lockdown. And I had a fallout with my dad, so we were not speaking to each other.

Reading it, I feel amazed how I was able to write such a beautiful piece with all the chaos around me. And I'm proud of how far I've come since then.

Here it is.

I’m an unrepentant introvert.

I hate being outside. I hate seeing people most of the time. My room is my heaven, and I find comfort in every little space that’s called mine.

My favorite things to do are read, watch movies and go on Twitter to laugh.

I don’t like taking a lead in anything. I would prefer nobody to know who I am in an organization. I’d rather observe than speak, but that doesn’t mean I don’t speak my mind when the need arises.

People have said I have low self-esteem but I laugh. I like it when others think the worst of me. That means I did a good job diverting their attention to something else.

I like following the unpopular path, though sometimes it’s just fate.

I’m very crazy but that part of me is reserved because when unleashed, it’s addictive.

I don’t compete with anybody, I’m my biggest competition. But I love learning from others’ experiences.

I like watching people think they are playing me. It’s always hilarious.

I don’t identify as a feminist because women twist that movement a lot without understanding what the movement is really about. But I love strong women. Women that make their mark wherever they go. Professional women who dominate their fields and look graceful and classy while doing it.

I’m a good judge of character, so I don’t waste time deleting people from my life. I am goofy but very principled too. Equilibrium is key to a good life.

I have come to understand that as people grow, their opinion about life changes and thereby, attracts people that emit the same energy frequency as they do. That’s when childhood friends or best friends become strangers. Don’t take it too personally, that’s just life.

I’m very emotional too. Most people don’t know that because I have the great wall of China built in defense of my very vulnerable side.

Oh and I don’t care much about anything, but, I care very deeply about some special species of humans I’ve come to know.

I don’t do besties. They rob you of your peace. I’m not particularly close to anyone, I keep my distance.

My name is Clavia. It’s nice meeting you and not knowing you.

--

--