About Me — Danielle Gruber

Danielle Gruber
About Me Stories
Published in
5 min readNov 28, 2020

--

Who I am

Hello there! My name is Danielle and I’m a 17-year-old from New York. Thanks for taking the time to get to know me!

In a nutshell: Computational neuroscience researcher. Lover of math and music. Advocate for social justice.

What I do

Computational neuroscience research. In spring of 2019, I began working at the Laboratory for Computational Neurodiagnostics at Stony Brook University. The lab’s work lies in the intersection of physics, mathematics, and neuroscience, and it’s been an incredible experience learning alongside so many brilliant individuals. I have learned how to collect, analyze, and interpret EEG data; contributed my computer programming skills to task design and processing pipelines for one of the ongoing experiments; and developed a strong enough understanding of neuroscience and mathematical modeling to create my own project, investigating how the brain balances performance and energetic costs using game theory.

The Knowledge Society (TKS). As an innovator at TKS, I’m learning how to solve the world’s biggest problems. Currently, I am exploring metabolomics and brain computer interfaces, as I’m interested in the intersection of metabolism and neural function.

One World Girl. One World Girl is an organization that promotes empowerment in young girls, teaching them to be leaders in their communities and change-makers in the world. As President of the Youth Advisory Council, I assist with developing and…

--

--

Danielle Gruber
About Me Stories

👋 I am a junior at Yale University majoring in electrical engineering. I’m interested in neuroscience, computer science, math, and everything in between!