CREATOR OF “MORE THAN TOKYO”

About Me — Diane Neill Tincher

Beauty and History are Everywhere in Japan

Diane Neill Tincher
About Me Stories
Published in
2 min readJan 6, 2022

--

Growing up in northern Virginia, my life revolved around my Catholic school and the Fort Myers’ Officers’ swimming pool. When I tired of swimming on long summer days, I would walk under big shady trees through the old section of Arlington National Cemetery. Each unique 19th century gravestone held such dignity. I marveled at their age.

At that time, the farthest thought from my mind was that I would spend most of my life in rural Japan.

But here I am, in Kagoshima, Japan, living next to one of the most active volcanoes in the world, and where local gravestones are not a mere 200 years old, but many are over 1,000 years old.

Funny, the turns a life can take.

Collage showing 5 photos: Pyramidal green mountain seen from a cave overlooking the sea, blue sky and clouds above. Mountaintop glowing bright red in the setting sun. Statues of happy buddhist deities standing side by side. Garden of trees with red and yellow leaves, a pond reflecting, and Chinese pagoda, with tree-covered mountain behind. Wide rocky waterfall with flat stones resembling huge lily pads in the water beneath it.
Some scenes from my world. Clockwise from upper left: Mount Kaimon, Mount Sakurajima, five Jizō statues, garden by Mount Kanmuri, Kirihara Falls. Kagoshima Prefecture, Japan.

I moved to Japan in 1987 and concentrated the next 30 years on raising my rather large family. Now that my children have, for the most part, made their way in the world, I have time to do things I would like to do.

In 2018, I began working as a tour leader — a job I seem to be made for. I thoroughly enjoy taking curious foreigners throughout this beautiful country that I love and call my home.

--

--

Diane Neill Tincher
About Me Stories

Top writer in Travel. I’ve lived in Japan since 1987 & love learning, history, & the beauty of nature. Pls use my link to join Medium: https://bit.ly/3yqwppZ