About Me — Gaël Maignan

Grumpy Parisian, info-com student, poet in his spare time, trying as best he can to become an engineer…

Gaël Maignan
About Me Stories
3 min readJul 8, 2024

--

Photo of me at the top of the Eiffel Tower | Photo by author

I’m writing to you from my student room in the heart of Paris! I’m just a stone’s throw from the Eiffel Tower and have even climbed to the top three times! (I know, it’s so cool)

Now that I’ve managed to bait you with a pretty picture of the Eiffel Tower, I have to admit that I’m a bitter Parisian, a pure cliché. As a result, I can’t help but find croissants infamous when they don’t come from France, so you can be sure I’m grumpy all the time, but hey, you’ll have time to find out for yourself!

What do I do when I’m not moaning like a good Frenchman?

« I eat all kinds of cheese! » (Coulommiers > Cheddar)

I’m just a student living in a modest 9 m² room, so whenever I get the chance, you’ll find me outside! When that’s not possible, I use my imagination to push back the walls of my room — it couldn’t be easier!

I also write, sometimes taking inspiration from famous authors like Paul Eluard to write poems when I’m inspired, and otherwise I just let my pen slide across the paper…

What do I study?

“Mainly maths and physics, well, I’m trying…”

I came out of a scientific CPGE, so roughly speaking, I spent two years swallowing thick books of physics and mathematics.

I’m also studying information and communication sciences in parallel with my engineering course, which I’m about to start!

Finally, I’m studying art history on a self-taught basis, writing articles with the aim of linking the physical sciences to the abstract field of art. If you’re interested, take a look at the articles I publish on my personal website: Sciensationnel

Why do I write?

“To tell the world that French cheeses don’t smell bad, they just have their own character!”

I don’t know exactly when I started writing for myself. However, I do remember the origin of my attachment to poetry, and it was by chance that a few years ago I came across Capitale de la Douleur, a collection of poems written by Paul Eluard. I fell under the spell of his writing. So it was with a pen and a simple notebook that I began to write about the world around me, be it happy, sad or insignificant.

Poetry allows me to express my doubts, desires and fears, simply in a few lines…

What will you find on my Medium account?

“Articles criticizing Parisian transport.”

I’d like to be able to publish my various writings there, whether poetry or articles of all kinds, I don’t really have an editorial line at the moment.

I’m also interested in French cultural news, so I’d love to be able to give you a young Parisian’s take on the panoply of museums I’ve yet to discover. Paris is a cultural goldmine, and it would be foolish to miss out!

So you’ll see on my profile all types of writing:

  • Poetry
  • My impressions of exhibitions

As for my poems, although they were originally written in French, I’ll try to translate them for you English-speaking readers! (don’t thank me)

What are my projects?

“I want to teach foreign bakers how to make a good baguette!”

Above all, I hope to continue diversifying my profile by sharing my various works with you, whether poetry, art or French current affairs!

Proof of my grumpy side

“So, what are you waiting for? Go ahead, click!

The only photo in which I don’t look bitter…

So I’d like to share all this with you… By the way, I’m taking my first steps on medium a bit by chance, and I confess I’m having trouble understanding how it works, but if you’re reading this article, it’s a sign that I’ve finally figured it out, more or less (I hope).

Follow me so you don’t miss a thing!

--

--

Gaël Maignan
About Me Stories

Passionate about political science and culture. I share my thoughts and analyses on various subjects. (I forgot... I'm French, I know it's so cool)