About Me — Jean Campbell

Who am I, why am I here … and why have I had so many jobs?

Jean Campbell
About Me Stories

--

Photo by Tim Connolly.

I’m a deep thinker from way back. As a small child, I recall wondering, for example, why my first grade teacher was so unhappy. Her name was Mrs. Sullivan and she didn’t seem to like first-graders.

Since then, I’ve discovered that teaching is a profession that can make it difficult to appreciate any age group, from 6 to 26. I added teacher to my criminally long list of jobs a few years back. They might cough up a clue or two to explain me.

Buckle up, Medium readers, you’re in for a bumpy ride.

1. Delivering newspapers (The Washington Times). Remember the Moonies? They were a cult led by Rev. Sun Yung Moon, and they owned the Times for awhile. My best friend, Yolande DeGastyne, and I delivered this paper after toiling through another day of 4th grade. We were not Moonies.

2. I did some jobs for neighbors, like serving food at parties. I was sure I’d drop an hors d’ouervre on someone’s foot.

3. Back to delivering newspapers, where dropping appetizers on guests was nearly impossible. I pedaled up the steep hill behind my house, hauling dual rear bike-basketfuls of The Washington Post to the other liberals in my ‘hood. I held this glamorous position from age 12 to 15.

--

--