About Me — Jeremy Swearengin

Work Hard, Live Simple, and Give Back

Jeremy Swearengin
About Me Stories
2 min readFeb 4, 2024

--

image owned by author

Hello writers & readers, my name is Jeremy Swearengin. I am an aspiring writer from the Seattle, WA area. I have enjoyed the last 27 years as a career firefighter/EMT, and prior to that, I served in the US Coast Guard.

My goal in becoming a writer for Medium is to share as much of my career experience with all of you in the hoping, to provide helpful advice. I will not pretend to say I have seen everything the world of 911 emergencies offers, but I have seen a lot. From rescuing a horse out of a swimming pool, to rushing a patient to the hospital with an embarrassing, life threatening, foreign object lodged within their body.

I always write from a place of empathy and respect for the individuals I have cared for. From the experiences of the others we share this planet with, we can learn valuable lessons. Without the ER visits, copays, and most important the pain.

I plan to dive into topics like: How to know when you really need to call 911. Signs and symptoms of someone who is very sick. Why a baby can seem fine one minute and terribly sick the next? Should you have that giant pimple on your back popped by a doctor? Spoiler- Yes, you should always have your giant pimples popped.

Medium might be a revolutionary platform for these types of stories because the entire community can respond in with questions and stories of their own, growing the collective knowledge base.

--

--

Jeremy Swearengin
About Me Stories

Work hard, live simple, and give back. I am an aspiring writer and avid traveler. I enjoy exploring the far reaches of our planet. More at: JeremySwearengin.com