Author selfie. Photo by author

About Me — Jessica M.

Jessica Montes
About Me Stories
Published in
2 min readSep 21, 2023

--

I am a California-based freelance writer and journalist. After quitting my job in education earlier this year, I decided to pursue writing full-time. It wasn’t the easiest decision to transition careers but it felt right in my heart and soul.

This is my first month on Medium. It’s where I share my personal experiences without waiting weeks to hear back from editors about whether they are interested in a pitch. I can guest post on publications like this (tysm Quy Ma!) or self-publish and write on my terms.

I’m still figuring out my niche (or whether I should just be a writer of all trades) but I enjoy writing about:

  • lifestyle
  • health
  • culture
  • travel
  • food
  • sustainability

Just to name a few topics. Although, I simply love writing. Whether it’s a journal entry, birthday card, poem, or article, I love expressing myself through the written word.

When I’m not typing away on the keyboard I bake, hike and camp, and read (current book: Children of Dune). My all-time favorite series is Harry Potter and it will forever hold a special place in my heart.

I also spend time with my two cats, Marty and Jelly. They are the unofficial emotional support animals who have…

--

--

Jessica Montes
About Me Stories

Writer | Editor | Traveler | Baker | Cat mom | Full-time Sunshine Enthusiast 🌻