About Me — Julie Ranson

A late bloomer in the writing space

Julie Ranson
About Me Stories
Published in
3 min readJul 1, 2022

--

Julie Ranson headshot 2017
Julie in Napa Valley in 2017

I didn’t call myself a writer until I was in my 50s.

It all happened suddenly and quite organically, truth be told. After experiencing a searing personal crisis, I pondered writing that story one day. Not yet… but someday in the not too distant future.

Instead, while I got ready for work, I watched YouTube videos about writing and publishing. Learning from the ground up is how I roll. As a lifelong learner and a teacher, it made sense to me to start the process that way. And it was motivating to think “I can do that” while I applied my mascara.

Then I stumbled across “Shut up and Write” and enrolled in a month-long prompt event. I shared some of my pieces with my husband and you know what he said to me?

Whatever you do, don’t stop writing.

I mean, for real, how does one ignore that kind of encouragement?!

So I kept writing. And I enrolled in an online Creative Writing course at the community college where I was an Associate Vice President. And COVID came. Thank heavens the class was online!

For the course final, I had to write a short story. I expanded one of the prompt pieces I’d written months before. Of course, I received an ‘A’ in the course. That’s also how I…

--

--

Julie Ranson
About Me Stories

Word Lover. Writer. Self-improver. Believer. Widow. Mother of three adults. Find me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/jjranson