About Me — Just Jade

A Hairdresser with a knack for words

Just Jade
About Me Stories
3 min readFeb 19, 2024

--

Sharing some hair love!

Well, this is a first, I’m not gonna lie, I feel like honestly I would rather die! But, I’m putting myself out there to see what happens, cos you never know who might jump on this bandwagon.

Yes, that’s correct, I am a hairdresser, I enjoy what I do but have this other rare treasure. A gift for words from a young age, just unfortunate that it never brought in a wage!

Enough of the rhyming I’ll just get on with it…

Looking forward to seeing if Medium is the right fit!

Hello Friends,

I will start with a confession!!! TBH Jade isn’t my first name but I don’t think that matters, It was hard enough to get the courage to actually put any words on here let alone give away all my personal details. I mean what if no one reads my stuff!!! Yes, that was me… a typical case of imposter syndrome that took some getting over but… HERE I AM!!!

I have over-eaten my caloric intake for the week, and I have binge-watched YouTube about whether writing actually makes any money on Medium… currently have about 20 tabs open as we speak! “How to get started on writing on Medium in 2024”, “How writing online made me a millionaire”, “How to make $10k a month writing online”… BLAH, BLAH, BLAH.

Then I came across a video from Ali Abdaal (I am sure you all know who that is if not a quick Google search will fix that!) anyways… he talks about his fears about putting his writing out there and how it took him 4 or 5 YEARS to do it!!! I thought to myself, “I am doing this today”!

So, I went and procrastinated for 5 mins while I made another microwave chocolate protein mug cake and here it is… First draft and no I’m not going to edit it 20 times before I post it.

This is me, I can apparently tell a good story, I can rhyme just about anything and really just an all-around creative. Hopefully, my many years of being in the hairdressing industry, my experience being a business owner and the years I have spent dealing with clients and the various challenges and situations that arise in this industry will bring value to someone’s life… surely, right?

Well, I plan on writing from the perspective of being a hairdresser, imparting some knowledge and providing insight into life on the other side of the chair. Failing that I also am into fitness, nutrition and personal growth and mindset. So, here goes, hopefully, I won’t be a complete flop and at worst you can always just ask me for some hairdressing advice, I’m more than happy to share!

All I can say is thank God for Grammarly… I hope this first piece of work isn’t the last and I will see you all on the inside of the writer’s web!

Just Jade X

--

--