Photo by Maria Luciano

Hi, my name is Justin Graves

I’m an African American and Puerto Rican writer born and raised in Brooklyn, New York

Justin Graves
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

If you’re not a Medium member, click here to read the full story

At 5 years old, my Tia Maria taught me how to make my very own books with nothing but Crayola Construction Paper, curling ribbons, and a hole puncher. Crafting narratives quickly became an obsession and I haven’t looked back since.

In elementary school, I streamlined the design with folded printer paper, and a stapler to bind them.

By middle school, my scribbles lined multiple composition notebooks.

From high school to college, I typed up gigabytes of data storage across multiple laptops.

And in my twenties, my poems were published in an anthology of emerging poets.

Then, just when I thought I’d used every medium for writing outside of publishing a book of my own, I found the perfect medium for this current point in my life, Medium!

Finally, a space to express my unique perspective on the human condition and share my endless opinions and observations.

I’m putting the finishing touches on my first 2 completed projects, my poetry book, Poetic Meditations, and novel, The Same Kind of Sufferings.

But in the meantime, I believe this is the perfect place to organize and repurpose all of my notes over the years into interesting stories that can be useful for the community here.

My special interests include Film, Music, Anime, and Video Games, so if you’re a fan of these and are interested in discovering some hidden gems give me a follow!

👨🏾‍💻 📝 🎮 👾 🍿 🎥 🎬 🎞️ 🎧 🎸 🎤

Challenging myself to post at least one story a day so wish me luck!

IG: @justinsgrave

X/Twitter: @byjustingraves

Any tips for a newbie?

--

--

Justin Graves
About Me Stories

Poet & Chronicler of Film, Music, Anime, & Games. Follow Me for Hidden Gems! 💎👨🏾‍💻 📝 🎮 👾 🍿 🎥 🎬 🎞️ 🎧 🎸 🎤