About Me — Kaitlyn

The story of my life.

Kaitlyn
About Me Stories
3 min readJun 29, 2024

--

A picture of the Author

Hello there!

I’m Kaitlyn and I am delighted to introduce myself to you.

It took a lot of courage to jot down my personal story because I didn’t have the audacity to look back. However, I guess now I’m ready to confront how far I’ve come.

Growing up in the picturesque state of Kerala, my childhood was a blend of vibrant culture, lush landscapes, and profound joys. As a kid, I was like any other child in my neighbourhood, curious and full of energy. I was quick to learn but my academic performance was mediocre; I was never at the top of the class, but sports were my forte. I found joy in singing for my church choir and doing various crafts. The world seemed to be pleasant.

The unexpected turn

Life, however, took a sharp turn when I was in 7th grade. My father passed away. His sudden departure left a void that words cannot describe. It was a devastating period and everything around me felt like it had come to standstill. My mother strived to provide guidance for our family. My brother had left town for studies. I was left alone with my thoughts of despair. I felt like the world was over.

But then I realized my mom demonstrated exceptional effort to maintain my dad’s business. I had two choices: Either I could sit here and grieve for the rest of my life or get up and become the bold woman who has her mom’s back. I chose the latter. I channelled my grief into something productive.

I decided to turn my life around and worked tirelessly on my academics and extracurricular activities. My mother instilled in me the belief that I could make dad proud through my actions and achievements. If that’s the case, I said consider it done and by God’s grace, I got a full A1 in my 10th-grade examinations- which was a very big deal there.

This achievement was a significant milestone for me. It wasn’t just about the marks or fame; it was about proving to myself that I could rise above the challenges life threw at me. Then the COVID-19 pandemic struck and I had to adapt to the new way of learning. Staying at home made me lose my shit a thousand times and suicidal thoughts flooded my mind. But I held on and managed to make it through. The pandemic sure did teach me patience and resilience.

Currently, I’m pursuing my engineering degree, a field I never imagined I’d study. College life has been an exciting journey so far, filled with new experiences and amazing friends. My love for singing has grown over the years and calligraphy is my favorite leisure interest. Music is my sole therapy.

I used to write when I was a kid. Back then I thought it was absurd. But as years passed I feel like writing allows me to articulate my thoughts, offering a glimpse into my inner world.

My journey has been one of growth, resilience and self-discovery. I believe that we cannot always control the hand we’re dealt, but we can control how we play the cards.

Just a work of mine

--

--