About Me — Karen Traub

New year, new beginnings

Karen Traub
About Me Stories

--

author photo

Happy New Year to us!

Here we are entering another year in crisis- global pandemic, war, famine, environmental catastrophe. How are we gonna find a way to keep going forward? How are we going to set things right? I wish I had the answers.

All I have to offer is an indomitable optimism. Not all the time, but for me, staying positive is something I work at. It’s like swimming instead of giving up and drowning.

I am lucky in my living situation- warm house, loving family, enough food to eat and a safe place to poop. I was blessed with parents who loved me and took care of me. I believe in translating gratitude into action, that caring for others makes our life richer in the ways that matter. When I commit an act of kindness, my heart is happy and the good vibes spread. I wrote about this last year in Small Kindnesses Remembered.

So what’s in my plan for 2022? One year ago I wrote my first story on Medium which was a list of New Year’ Resolutions. Here’s the updated version of my New Year’s resolutions. What are yours?

  1. Keep in touch. Make sure to connect in person, by phone, or text, with family and friends every day. It benefits our emotional wellbeing. “Connection,” Johann Hari says, “is the opposite of addiction.”

--

--