About Me — lalaBIM

(Last Updated: June 2024)

lalaBIM
About Me Stories
2 min readJun 24, 2024

--

Logo Image by the Author

Are you interested in Digital Technology for the Construction industry?

If the answer is YES! Let’s start a conversation and share knowledge!

That’s the whole idea behind this account.

I’m passionate about learning and here It’s all about Building Information Modeling (BIM) and the Digitalization of the Construction Industry.

This space is dedicated to sharing knowledge not only with professionals and students in the Architecture, Engineering, and Construction (AEC) industry but also with anyone interested in Construction and Digital Technology!

Who is writing?

Hi, I’m Laura! I have a Master of Science in Applied BIM & Management. This achievement, along with almost a decade of experience in the construction industry, gives me the confidence to share my views on this topic which are inclined to highlight the importance of people on this digitalization journey.

Why talk about BIM and Digitalization in the Construction Industry?

I’m passionate about this topic because I’ve spent the last 6 years working on large construction projects implementing BIM across various sectors (Data Centres, Hospitals, Commercial, Residential and Life Sciences) and it has shaped the way I see construction should be delivered now and in future.

I started as a BIM Modeler/Technician, creating and managing 3D digital models for Civil & Structural disciplines. Over time, I transitioned to a BIM Coordinator role, where I’ve been managing the integration of BIM processes across various disciplines and ensured effective collaboration among project stakeholders.

This experience on each project presented unique challenges and learning opportunities, deepening my understanding and appreciation of BIM in different aspects.

Who should be interested to read?

Whether you hold any role in the AEC industry or are passionate about how buildings and structures are built with digital technologies, this space is for you!

Even if it’s not on your radar now, I believe BIM knowledge will become essential in your career sooner than you might think!

Why? Well, BIM is transforming the construction industry by enabling more efficient and collaborative project delivery.

It integrates various aspects of design, construction, and operation into a cohesive digital model, enhancing communication and decision-making.

Digitalizing construction processes not only improves accuracy and reduces errors but also fosters innovation and sustainability.

Learning and Sharing Together

So, this platform is not only for me to share knowledge through my expertise and insights; I hope it transforms into a space for mutual learning and collaboration.

I aim to connect with other professionals, exchange ideas, and support each other in navigating the digital transformation of our industry.

Feel free to reach out:

LinkedIn: Laura Gomez

X: lalaBIM_

Merch: lalaBIM

--

--

lalaBIM
About Me Stories

Hey! I write about BIM and the Digitalization of Construction Industry. I believe People, not just Technology, will Transform the Industry! English & Spanish.