About Me — Liam Martin

Liam G. Martin
About Me Stories
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2024

--

Picture provided by the author

Hi! My name is Liam. I originally joined Medium a while ago, but I never quite got into it. This year, though, I’ve decided I’m going to try and give it a proper go.

So, here’s a little about Me

When I was eight, I had a brain-stem stroke. This meant I had to relearn things like how to swallow, speak, and do the things we usually take for granted. I pretty much spent the majority of my childhood being able to communicate with those around me very easily. The one good thing about people not being able to understand your speech very well is that you can get away with saying all sorts of things!

I managed to survive school (barely) and come away with good enough graces to get into university. I did a degree and master’s degree in Creative Writing. During this time, I studied things like fairy tales, magic realism, early child development, Norse mythology, and the old Icelandic sagas. After that, I published my first book, Scrapbook of Dreams, a collection of short stories and poems for children. I had always wanted to write a book for charity, and this was the perfect opportunity. All of the royalties from this book went to the Alliance for Inclusive Education, and then later, to buy books for primary schools in the Nottinghamshire area. Since then, I have published two more books, Norse Tales and Tales from the Volsunga Saga, both of…

--

--