About Me — Martin Sesay

Martin Sesay
About Me Stories
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2024
Me sitting on by a beach in Mexico
Tulum, Mexico

Who am I?

Hello World! My name is Martin and I was born and raised in the UK, London to be exact. I graduated from the University of Birmingham with a Computer Science degree (feels like an age ago) which had a focus on Software Development and Engineering with Java. I have spent the last few years working at a Tech consulting company in various roles with clients from a multitude of industries.

Things I enjoy when I’m not writing SQL or Python code is playing the “beautiful game” of Football, I’ve been playing since I could remember in school, after school, weekends, weekdays, rain or shine I was never too far from a football. I do however enjoy playing other sports such as Futsal, Basketball and I do enjoy a bit of Running . My other interests include console gaming and Anime, my favourite Anime at the moment is One Piece, I am also currently watching Jujutsu Kaisen, Bleach, Demon Slayer and Black Clover.

What brings me to Medium?

I created this Medium account a couple years ago mainly because of the many thought provoking Medium blogs/articles on the platform and I also found that Medium was a helpful resource in learning about topics about Tech and has helped me in my career. However I have always had this urge to write about topics that I am passionate about, to share my thoughts, opinions and just express myself through words. I have created accounts on many other “blogging” sites but in comparison Medium just feels like the perfect platform for me, where the focus is more on a writer’s words rather than how pretty you can make your platform.

The Topics I will write about

Although I wish to write about a lot of topics such as my recent holiday to Tokyo or why One Piece is the best modern Anime out (which I will at some point, I promise), my main passion lies in the intersection between Sports and Technology, this will be the common theme around my pieces, whether it be hands on tutorials of how to scrape expected goals data from a website or just an informal opinion on why LeBron James is the GOAT, I aim to cover a wide scope of Sports such as Premier League football, NFL, WNBA and many more.

I have created my own publication Tech x Ball with the aim of using this as some sort of portfolio for my projects, where a focus on programming and how I can apply it to your favourite sports, so if that is your kinda thing then definitely follow my publication.

As I embark on this endless journey of learning, documenting and building I hope you can find joy in my pieces, feel free to connect!

--

--

Martin Sesay
About Me Stories

Big nerd based in London writing about Technology, Sports and Lifestyle.