About Me — Mary DeVries

I write. I wander. I read. I remember.

Mary DeVries
About Me Stories

--

I started writing my first novel at age eight. It was about a family of pencils that came alive at night and wandered around the classroom having various adventures. I was several chapters in when a well-meaning adult asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.

“I want to be a writer. In fact, I’ve already started writing my first novel,” I told her.

“Oh, that’s so cute. Being a writer is hard work you know. Most people never make it.”

This was news to me. I had assumed the only tough part about writing was plot development and getting the words down on paper. I went back to my half-written opus with a new and critical eye. Was this really worth publishing?

I put it and my dreams of being a published writer aside for several decades. I still wrote plenty I just rarely shared it.

No more. I’m embracing my childhood dreams. I’m writing for me but I want to share it with the world.

If you want to get to know me, read my writing. I’m sharing more about who I am each day.

I’ve lived a variety of experiences so I write on a variety of topics. Check out the lists below to find the perfect stories for you.

--

--

Mary DeVries
About Me Stories

The older I get, the less I know. That won’t stop me from writing about everything and anything under the sun. Join me in delighting and despairing about life.