About Me — Matteo Licata

“Dreams are what makes a man alive. Destiny rests largely in our own hands, provided that we know what we want and are decided to have it”

Matteo Licata
About Me Stories

--

Matteo Licata
Picture of the Author, provided by… The Author!

I wish these words were mine, but they actually are from Enzo Ferrari. A man who knew a thing or two about dreams, and definitely one that lived life on his own terms.

The way I like it.

I’ve been obsessed with cars since I can remember and started drawing them almost as soon as I could hold a pencil in my hand. I remember spending my school years incessantly drawing cars and telling my incredulous classmates I’d be a car designer someday!

I grew up in Turin, Italy, between the 1980s and 90s. At the time, Turin still was the mecca of automobile design, so I became aware very early on that such a job actually existed.
But, most importantly, I never doubted that I would achieve it, even if I didn’t know precisely how.

Knowing how much I loved cars, my mum started buying me magazines even before I was able to read them… With the result that one of the first words I’ve uttered (I’m not making this up, Mum remembers that well!) was… “Volvo.” Don’t ask…

--

--

Matteo Licata
About Me Stories

I’ve been obsessed with cars for as long as I remember and, after working in automobile design for a decade, now I’m a lecturer, a published author, a YouTuber