About Me — Michele Maize

I am a proud survivor of cancer, addiction, abuse, and the grip of my mother.

Michele Maize
About Me Stories

--

Self Portrait by Author

Hi Medium friends!!

I’m Michele. Yes, I am sober, plant-based, and addicted to yoga. I need my namaste every day or I feel like a sloth.

So here goes…

I was born into a chaotic, abusive, alcoholic home. My parents divorced when I was 2 years old, and I always thought it was because my Dad wanted out.

I thought that because I wanted out, too! My mom was a scary, violent, mean, and hurtful person. She still is many of those things.

Just recently, I found out she cheated on my dad and made him move out. But, she always blamed it on him, lying and twisting the truth. This is her M.O.

For the next 10 years, it was constant turmoil, and emotional and physical abuse, even after my stepdad came into the picture. He became a punching bag for her abuse, as well.

You can read about the day she kicked me out of the house here:

--

--

Michele Maize
About Me Stories

Sober Traveler | Wannabe Vegan | Yoga Addict. Extrovert turned introvert who loves dachshunds. Owner of "The Maze". Editor at Black Bear and Globetrotters.