About Me — Montserrat Pagán

Freelance Journalist and Writer — Exploring Global Culture and Politics

Montserrat Pagan
About Me Stories
3 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Reporting from Buenos Aires, Argentina. Oct. 30, 2023.

Hello! My name is Montse. I have a few articles already published on Medium that were written for Journalism courses at university. However, I want to start publishing my work more regularly.

Inspired by Margie Hord de Mendez’s About Me post, I will be using the alphabet to share a bit about myself. Here is my version:

A is for Adventure. My goal as a storyteller is to learn through exploration and action. Please join me on this About Me Stories Adventure!

B is for Beginning. During my freshman year of college, writer Maeve Dunigan advised me to not wait for others to tell me when to write. So here I am pressing the green publish button.

C is for Conversation. As a journalist, my interview sources should feel safe talking to me (sharing a conversation over feeling like it’s an interrogation).

D is for Drive. No, not driving a car (I’m pretty bad at that). Now that I have these writing wheels in motion, I am driven to continue to publish semi-regularly.

E is for Evidence. Evidence, ethics, and attribution are essential.

F is for Facts.

G is for Green. My absolute favorite color. Most of my clothes are green.

Sporting an all green outfit. March 14, 2023.

H is for Home. I was born in McAllen, Texas by the Mexican border. I’ve grown up mostly in New York City. I consider both places home. But ultimately my home is defined by my family and friends.

I is for Inquiry. If you ask my friends and family, my favorite thing to do is to ask questions. Hopefully, we can ask and answer questions together.

J is for Journalist. By now this is hopefully obvious.

K is for Kaleidoscope. I love creative writing, so scene-setting and color in storytelling are some of my go-to strategies to engage a reader.

L is for Language. I am a native Spanish and English speaker. I have been learning French for the past two years and recently started learning Python, the programming language.

M is for Mexico. Where my madre is from!

N is for Notebooks. This is what my friends usually give me for birthdays.

O is for Opportunity. I value taking advantage of new opportunities when they arise. This means applying for that job/internship or going abroad to practice global reporting.

P is for Puerto Rico. Where my padre is from!

Q is for Question. I hope to receive questions and comments in my work! This will help me better understand my readers and how I can improve my writing.

R is for Run. A personal de-stressor.

S is for Salsa. I love eating salsa! I love dancing Salsa!

T is for Twin. I have a fraternal twin sister (we’re in different careers).

U is for University. I’m a current undergraduate student at New York University. My Bachelor’s degree is in Journalism and Comparative Literature. I am also pursuing a Data Science minor.

V is for Visit. I hope you can check out my page to see what else I’ve written.

W is for Walk. I walk more than I run. My twin sister and I once walked 200 city blocks just for fun.

X is for Exit. We’re almost at the end of this story.

Y is for Year. I just committed to a year-long subscription to Medium. So I’ll definitely post more!

Z is for Zone. All of this writing has gotten me in the zone for more — I hope I can inspire you zome more.

--

--