About Me — Nevin Katz

Nevin Katz
About Me Stories
Published in
7 min readJul 10, 2021

--

Photo by Intricate Explorer on Unsplash

Hi there, and thanks for dropping by. I am a web and app developer and private tutor living in the Boston area. While I grew up in Virginia, I have now spent more of my life in Massachusetts. Outside of work I enjoy illustration, running, writing about technology, and losing to my son at chess.

My history as a developer is a fairly roundabout journey. I started programming in BASIC on my Commodore 128 during the age of floppy disks, following tutorials from 3–2–1 Contact magazines and building pint-sized games. After middle school, my interests veered towards other things and I ended up taking a long break from programming. I then came back to it as an adult when my interests in education, visual media, and technology started to converge.

Education, Media, and Tech

In earlier days, I majored in Biology at Swarthmore College and graduated with an interest in pursuing a career with a focus on education and an emphasis on science and technology. I earned an Ed. M. in Teaching and Curriculum at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. I then went on to teach science at the middle school and high school levels in Cambridge and Western Mass. While teaching, I wrote and illustrated Dr. Birdley Teaches Science, a nationally-published series of nine comics-based science resource books for grades 5 through 12.

--

--

Nevin Katz
About Me Stories

Developer at EDC. I write about web development and biology. Subscribe at https://buttondown.email/nevkatz for article roundups.