About Me — Nicholas Schacherl

A Man Who Was Lost But Now Is Found

Nicholas Schacherl
About Me Stories
3 min readFeb 10, 2023

--

Photo by Shelby Miller on Unsplash

I’ve been on this platform on and off for a little while now and have somehow never thought to explain who I am. That is until now. So hopefully you have a few minutes to set aside as I explain a bit of my story.

My story starts properly about 3 years ago just as the virus hit. I went into a reclusive state, as many others did, wasting away to various bad habits. this went on for as long as we were in lockdown which lasted almost a year where I live (South Africa).

Naturally, this whole experience took a massive toll on my mental health, resulting in a slow descent into an unsavory state of mind. I became angry, emotional, selfish, and extremely detached from family and friends.

In short, I was lost. Extremely lost.

Now you might be wondering why the image for this article is a Bible. Well, the best answer I can give you is that after my period of lostness, I became found.

You see as I was going through this period, my person as a whole was becoming very unlikeable, negative, and quite hateful. What didn’t help was that the country was switching in and out of lockdown, further deteriorating my mental health.

That all changed when I was invited to a local church that was a few minutes away from where I was staying.

At first, I was skeptical and resistant to the idea but decided to go anyway. Weeks went by and I continued to attend the church sermons, learning more about Christ and His loving character. Until I ended up desiring to be better and live for the glory of God.

And so my journey started to sprout.

My life was transformed by the grace of God whose hand had delivered me from my sin and degenerate lifestyle. I had begun to research masculinity and what it truly means to be a man, the dangers society is facing with the increase in rejection of the idea of the masculine father figure, and the need for a life driven by purpose and what that means for us men today.

Through all this discovery I started seeing improvements and ultimately a more meaningful life devoted to Christ.

My mission as of now is to share as much knowledge I possibly can about my past experiences in the hopes of reaching anyone else struggling. By no means am I free of temptation and the struggles of sin, quite the opposite actually, but it is the fact that I have been forgiven for my transgressions that drives me to grow in the glory of God.

I believe I am somewhat qualified to guide people to a better lifestyle in the hopes that they will be able to glean some value from it.

So thank you dear reader for taking the time to read about me and I hope you are encouraged in some form or another, and as always, stay safe and stay humble.

Cheers.

If you want a better idea of what I write about, this article below should help you.

Bio
Nicholas is a writer focused on the true essence of God-given purpose and masculinity, As well as dropping the occasional poem here and there.

--

--

Nicholas Schacherl
About Me Stories

Masculinity is dying and we need to change that. I write to help all men struggling with mental health so that they can become spiritually strong.