About Me — Rob Janicke

Rob Janicke
About Me Stories
Published in
5 min readJan 10, 2021

--

Obligatory selfie by the author

Writing poetry or articles, as I’ve been doing weekly (sometimes daily) here on Medium for the past year, is a lot easier than writing an entire piece about myself…but here goes!

Hi, my name is Rob Janicke. I was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York but don’t have the accent to prove it. I got rid of that a long time ago. Catch me when I’m tired or after a couple of glasses of wine and it may spill out a little bit.

I’m 47-years-old, have been married since 2012, have two kids (7 and almost 5) and I’m not sure what I want to do when I grow up.

I’ve been writing since I was about 15 or 16 years old. Started out as song lyrics and poetry as a way to escape, as most kids tend to do at some point in their childhood. I didn’t think I’d still be doing it decades later.

My upbringing was fairly normal for the 70s and 80s. My parents got divorced when I was five and my sister three, my mom had to work two, and sometimes three jobs, just to make ends meet. This had a negative effect on me and how I’d see the world in the years to come.

I experienced some traumatic events which I’ve never spoken about publicly, but couple those with my parents’ divorce and I was in therapy by the age of nine. Since then, therapy is something I’ve done throughout my life and I find it to be pretty helpful.

--

--

Rob Janicke
About Me Stories

Former indie record label owner currently writing my first book, SLACKER - 1991, Teen Spirit Angst and the Generation It Created. Follow me on IG @rob_janicke