About Me — Sean Barker

Small town boy chases big dreams!

Sean Barker, CPT, PN2
About Me Stories
Published in
8 min readNov 30, 2020

--

I grew up in a small isolated mining town called Wabush, nestled into the Labrador West-Quebec border area of Northern Canada. Where the winters are long, cold, and the snow squeaks underneath your feet.

Then the highly anticipated summers are almost too short for shorts.

From an early age, I naturally gravitated toward two things.

Writing and weight lifting.

My passion for writing came a little earlier, as it was easier to pick up a pencil (and eventually tap a keyboard) than it was to press a bar off my chest.

My highest marks (and interest) in school always came from subjects and projects involving writing creative short stories or long essays. That passion was fueled even more growing up in the computer age and dot-com era as the revolution of the internet became a reality.

I always remember getting my first little blue screen NCR computer in my bedroom and every day just like Doogie Howser MD did (which was a popular TV show at the time) I would tap away at that keyboard. Learning DOS commands (because there was no mouse)and…

--

--

Sean Barker, CPT, PN2
About Me Stories

Award-winning fitness coach and best-selling author of The Easy Eating Diet and cookbook. Apply for Online Custom FIT Coaching here: https://bit.ly/3wzBhHH