About Me — Shea de Vries-Thomas

Writing about travel and how it connects us

Shea de Vries-Thomas
About Me Stories
2 min readJun 28, 2024

--

Me in Place d’Armes, Québec City, Canada

Hi there!

I’m Shea, a Canadian freelance writer and self-confessed nerd for all things travel, cities, geography, history, and languages.

As a kid, I memorized all the bus routes in my city, and having helped several friends plan their trips to Europe, I can’t say I’ve changed that much!

Following my passions

Despite having a background in software development, my biggest passion has always been learning about the world. While I went into tech for the job prospects, I’ve always been way more interested in studying the languages of humans rather than those of computers.

I’m endlessly curious about the human world around us, and I’m committed to being a lifelong learner. Whether studying foreign languages, learning about the traditions of people around the world, or getting to travel to new places myself, I’ll always strive to broaden my horizons and become a more educated global citizen.

In my free time you can find me looking at Google Maps, working on my Spanish, or practicing some bass guitar. If I could design my dream job without any concern for money, I’d probably end up being a tour guide in a medieval Spanish city.

What to expect

You can look forward to articles on the tourism industry, travel trends, and the cultural, social, and political impacts of how we travel.

I’ll be looking at how tourism impacts cities, and how travel is changing. From new transportation links to the changing attitudes of locals in popular destination cities, my mission is to explore how travel connects us.

I’ll also be sharing some insights into travel planning, language learning, and history. I’d eventually like to start publishing articles in Spanish, but for now I’m happily in the intermediate/“comfortable but awkward” stage of learning the language!

Coming soon…

I’m also working on Shea’s Travel Guides, an upcoming website focused on city guides and practical info for independent travelers. I’ve always been the go-to guy for all things travel planning, and I can’t wait to share that passion with a wider audience.

Thanks for stopping by! I’m really looking forward to sharing my passions with the world and developing my skills as a writer. I hope you’ll be there with me to learn and grow as a global citizen.

--

--

Shea de Vries-Thomas
About Me Stories

Freelance writer, travel nerd, and hopeful lifelong learner. Probably looking at a map.