About Me — Shruthi Acharya

Pulled an all-nighter skimming through all the mini-biographies, only to come up with a lame one. Still want to post it anyway.

Shruthi Giyyar
About Me Stories
3 min readNov 4, 2020

--

I’ve had so many passions since childhood. Writing being one, I also sing and play chess on a wider level. (Sang for a radio and played at a National Level Chess Championship- but who cares, right?).

Anyway, all of the above didn’t stick so well with me until now like how writing did. Even before iPhones renowned for its Notes app existed, I’ve been writing in my diary and some special dreamy, fancy, books I own. I still remember the first 4-line short poem I’ve written when I was like 11.

At the age of 17, I lost my best friend in an accident. I’ve gone MIA and started penning down all those racing thoughts. Little did I know that it has helped me get through those tough days.

I’ve moved to the United States when I was 21 with so much enthusiasm. It was a pretty good transition for me, I must say, at first. I made good friends. I traveled to some of my favorite destinations.

Being from a working class family, my only aim was to get a decent job that I like so that I can pay off my student loans and save up to keep traveling. I landed on a pretty decent job in 2018. So, professional side of me is duck soup. Coming to my personal life, days have passed and I grew into a different person. I have so many friends who I can talk to about anything and everything but eventually it became so hard for me to explain what was going on in this bungled brain.

It was only last year that I saw myself at rock bottom when I was in a plane. This isn’t exaggeration so much as it’s coming from my experience. I feel lucky to be having the habit of writing down my thoughts because this is what calms me when I have anxiety episodes. I didn’t realize that a 16 hour flight can make you anxious, can make you feel like you are being taken away. It felt like prison to me and you know what the worst thing about prison was- The Dementors!!(if you know, you know!).

Anyway, I opened my notes and penned down all my thoughts that were traveling at the speed of light. I still carry those notes hoping to turn them into something maybe turn it into a story that I can tell?

As days passed, I have realized that it is not necessary to carry this harrowing fears of anxiety and depression. I took the next step, I’ve sought help, taken up more reading and meditation and I think I ‘m doing considerably good (Very less Quarantine Blues!!)

So, now is the time to share my stories, opinions, struggles, oh and the list goes on! I want to keep writing and publishing, I want to see if I get fed up of writing.

So here’s me: https://medium.com/@shruthi.giyyar

Sorry for rambling on for 18 pages, front and back!!! :D

--

--