About Me — Sina Ahrens

Mental Health Counselor, Founder of a Nonprofit for Children in Kenya

Sina Ahrens
About Me Stories

--

Picture Provided by Author

Hello,

I’m Sina! It’s pronounced like Xena, the Warrior Princess.

I know this because when I was sixteen and living in Canada for a year, I introduced myself to someone and they said, “Oh, like the Warrior Princess.“ That was a very long time ago, and I’m still not sure who exactly Xena is, but that’s how you say my name.

I come from the North of Germany. My mom wasn’t very happy, which made it difficult for me to be happy growing up. My parents got a divorce when I was six, and my mom married my stepdad. I spent most of my childhhood reading books about happy kids. That’s when I decided to become a children’s book author and bring more happy books to other children. I wrote my first story about horses, and I illustrated it beautifully (at least that’s what I thought). I also collected and filed every bit of information I could find about whales and dolphins. I then decided to become a marine biologist and write about kids who live on boats and play with dolphins. But that didn’t happen.

I started studying Social Pedagogy. I adopted two dogs. I traveled to Kenya.

I met a boy who couldn’t go to school.

--

--

Sina Ahrens
About Me Stories

I worked with refugees for 7 years, I'm a mental health coach, and I write about triggers, positive and negative beliefs, and confidence through body language.