About Me — Snehal Saju

In a world overcrowded with dilemmas and conundrums from various realms, knowing who I am or what I am and who I am meant to be has been the most challenging discovery trial for me.

Snehal Saju
4 min readSep 7, 2023
The Author in her Niche

I have spent a great deal of time trying to search, map, and deduce the answers to these questions(go to the subtitle) and they continue to remain unanswered to this day. These dilemmas have also often turned into a muse for a new piece of literature each time they visit.

I do not mean to say that I am stuck in an existential crisis of any form at the present, but I find it hard and extremely suffocating to identify myself with characteristics, names, or designations that I have been given. I believe this stems from the idea that a box can never hold and define what the human soul is made for.

I am made for too many things. Too many experiences in this given short span. Apart from my particular fascination with writing, I have always remained curious to learn and relearn things that are way too far from my path. Nonetheless, I am still able to give you all an introduction to myself in all geographical and technical aspects possible.

I am Snehal Saju, a second-year English and psychology major from South India. I first grew in love with my hometown before anything else. There has always been a certain magic in the air around here. I am also an E/INFP if you would analyze me based on the sixteen personalities(my results keep oscillating between E and I every year and I could never figure that out). People refer to me as a Scorpion. My friends call me a fun-loving, easy-going, sanguine but also the goofiest and mostly dumb person there is. My parents would call me a motivated but goofy kid who has placed all her confidence in the Higher Power(yes I am a tad bit too spiritual for some of my friends) though my brother calls me just a buffalo.
Being the eldest among the two children, I have had my fair share of insecurities growing up. As an academically motivated child right from my school in primary, my validation for most of my years depended on my academic success and a reduced motivation to continue made me prey to the anxieties and fears that more than half the teenagers in the world face today.

I have certainly grown out of it, but I will never call it a “Phase”. It was during my gap year before University that I was able to find help to stand on my own two legs. The added experience of being a college student taking care of herself has also certainly contributed to this factor of confidence and owning up to measures I fail to comprehend.

I have a few hobbies — Reading, Writing, and Learning Music being at the top. I also love being introduced to new languages. My life isn’t exactly an awe-inspiring story like most that I read on this Publication before I could finally start writing my share to it. Nonetheless, it has been a ride through many different realms all at once.

India is the only country I have ever been to or in and it doesn’t even count North India. But my dreams to see the whole world one day remain as strong as ever. This has been a dream for more than half the course of my two-decade life and all my actions are driven by it to the greatest extent. I also dream of being a well-known and published author one day and joining a platform like this I believe is only bringing me one step closer to achieving it at its time. You ask where my dream of being an author started from? I think that’s another story from my early school.

Like most kids in love with literature, I too developed an early liking for language and especially writing. This liking soon developed into a fascination that covered up major parts of my life under the special guidance of my English Teacher in High School. She is, I know, the happiest person I have ever known when I could finally tell her that I have decided to pursue literature. All of these combined, increased my keenness in learning more about language, to levels I could never fathom two years back. I have talked more about this in my post linked below.

Summarising it all, I am another 20-year-old wading through life in this vast population of life with her hands held firmly on language and literature and her feet steady on her faith in spirituality and this is my AboutMeStory.

Check my https://www.instagram.com/thelunaticspoesy/ and https://in.pinterest.com/snegalisajju/ to connect and know more.

--

--