About Me — Srishti

Perhaps in another life, I’m an ocean — perpetual and abyssal

Srishti
About Me Stories
2 min readJul 8, 2024

--

Photo by Quinn Nietfeld on Unsplash

Greetings, fellow readers and writers! I hope you all are doing well.

I’m writing from New Delhi, India. Tonight’s weather is pleasant.
The wind is gentle on the skin, unlike the scorching heat that embraces the sky during the day. I was not planning to write anything tonight.
But as I stared at The Maidens by Alex Michaelides on the bedside table, I thought hard and decided to write on Medium since I was too exhausted to read the book anyway. I've got about 14+ books on my booklist and 4+ novels to complete in real life. What does that make me? A burned-out nocturnal creature who likes to read fanfiction by @villainhours on Archive of Our Own after midnight.

I don’t think I’ve written an introduction before, except on LinkedIn. Thanks to About Me Stories, I can now question my existence.

A BRIEF INTRO
I’m Srishti, a college student who writes to explore writing.
I love fiction and enjoy writing about life, movies, TV shows and books.
For me, Medium is a space to learn and grow as a writer and as a person.
Feel free to check out my stories.

MY INTERESTS
As a pastime, I read books (alongside cracking dad jokes to my parents and cursing my friends to call me back), including ones that deal with psychological thrillers, supernatural horror, historical fiction, fantasy, mythology, urban legends and folklore. My current favourite is The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni. I plan to read The Daevabad Trilogy by SA Chakraborty and The Red Palace by June Hur. I’m not a big fan of romance books; I only seem to digest romance when it’s a sub-genre or when it doesn’t completely dictate the actions of the characters. Apart from this, I sometimes prefer reading in-depth discourses and studies by different authors. I currently have The Buddhist Dead: Practices, Discourses, Representations by Bryan J. Cuevas on my list. I also love watching TV shows and movies, especially East and South Asian ones. I have a long list of impactful K-Dramas that I would forever recommend to people and I’ve written my thoughts on them here on Medium.

WHAT AM I LIKE?
I’m a homebody and a somewhat introverted person. I have a vivid imagination that helps with creative writing, thanks to mangas, manhwas, anime and fictional characters’ POV playlists. I’m a selectively social person who likes to have funny, meaningful and deep conversations with people.

That’s it, I think. I look forward to crafting more pieces on Medium :)

--

--