About Me — Suzanne Marie

Highlight Reel and Literacy Journey

Suzanne Marie, MA., M.Ed.
About Me Stories
Published in
10 min readAug 30, 2022

--

Suzanne Marie, MA., M.Ed.

Hi! Thanks for stopping by to learn more about me. In this personal story, I will share some highlight reels and my literacy journey as a Metis woman, mother, grandmother, and writer.

My Philosophy

Everyone can become their potential.

This is the foundation of my career. Background, experience, ethnicity, socio-cultural roots, language, intellectual and emotional capacities, and desire are all woven into the fabric of our learning potential while creating space for self and others.

Working with people from all walks of life for more than two decades has inspired me to live my truth and always keep learning and sharing.

My Story

With Metis roots, I was born and raised in northern Saskatchewan, Canada. In recent years, I have been named “Mah-Nis-Da-Gee” (Woman of Many Tribes) by Blackfoot Elders. My Chinese colleagues named me 苏晓蝶 (Beautiful, Dawn, Butterfly). These names have shaped my identity as an educator, author, mother, and grandmother.

My Hometown

I grew up in northern Saskatchewan, Canada. Our hamlet, Dore Lake, had approximately one hundred citizens year round and because it is a community rich in tourism…

--

--

Suzanne Marie, MA., M.Ed.
About Me Stories

Life is always beautiful and ever-changing. Each day has infinite possibilities to live life to the fullest. I write about self-care, self-discovery, and more.