About Me — Tavian Jean-Pierre

Tavian Jean-Pierre
About Me Stories
Published in
5 min readMar 13, 2021

--

Tavian Jean-Pierre

Out of all the articles I have written this has been by far the hardest one to write. I even had to get some help from those who know me well to put this one together. It is extremely hard to write about yourself while also adding value to you the reader.

Nevertheless, I have finally worked up enough courage to write an “About Me” story. Without further ado, I hope you enjoy this deep dive into my short story of how I came to write.

My Difficult Childhood

Being born and raised in the city of London teaches you a thing or two about the hustle and bustle of the world. Especially when you are not as privileged as the other kids. I owe my life to my mother’s determination. She was only sixteen when she had me and had to play the role of mum and dad as best she could.

My childhood was all about surviving for the next day. I will never forget the day we had to complete an hour walk home because of a lack of bus fare money. Or when my mum had no one to help her when she was pregnant with my little sister but my two small arms.

Growing up in a single-parent household as a black child was not ideal. My mum had to move me from two nurseries because I was being treated differently from the other children. I was not the best-behaved child. I had a bad temper and would often lash out at…

--

--

Tavian Jean-Pierre
About Me Stories

Founder of the Better Conversations Podcast | Inspiring a better future | Thought leadership in the topics of innovation, economics, and entrepreneurship