About Me — M&Z

Let Us Introduce Ourselves

M&Z
About Me Stories
4 min readJul 18, 2022

--

Hello, my fellow writers! My name is Konstantinos Mitrakas and I am the first half of M&Z. I was born on February 15, 2001. I am studying Production and Management Engineering in Crete and I must note that hopefully in just two years I will have my degree in my hands. But of course, these are the typical staff.

Hmm, it’s tough to write about yourself because if you are too honest you expose yourself too much and as a consequence, you end up naked! I would characterize myself as a grafter and disciplined man who is obsessed with challenges.

The first challenge I had to deal with was in the world of sports. More specifically, when I was 4, my dad pushed me through martial arts. I have punched and kicked people, but trust me I have been bitten too! The thing about this kind of sport is that you get accustomed to feeling lonely. I am referring to this disheartening feeling that makes you realize your abilities and the power you carry as a human being. My coach always said, “In life, there will be numerous times you shrank into your abyss but every time you must stand up and get on your knees to fight again just like you do here in the ring”.

Another breakthrough moment in my life was the day I hold a pen in my hands, and a piece of paper on my table and began writing. Scattered thoughts were spinning in my mind so I found them a shelter. And I recall the genuine relief I felt that dusk. As time passes this paper is the key to my heart. On it lie my secrets, my emotions. In the end, the paper was the mud, the blood, and the tear, the basic ingredients of a character.

Hi! I’m Fenia Zikou and I’m the second half of M&Z. I don’t normally like to talk about myself -to be completely honest I never know what to say and I always try to avoid it- but I guess for you I’ll make an exception.

Let’s start with the typical part of the introduction so we can move on to more interesting things. I am 21 years old and I am an undergraduate student in the Department of Pharmacy, in Patras Greece. And that’s where the fun begins. Yes, I am Greek and like all typical Greek girls, I am SHORT (tempered), extremely jealous, and the most pessimistic person you’ll ever know. As all Capricorns, I love money and power and when I don’t get my way, I get veeery upset. I guess from what I just said you may not like me very much but I promise you my friends tell me that I have some positivity too.

According to them, I am extremely loyal, caring, and always ready to help them fight their battles. I would say that although I always whine about everything, I love deeply the people and the things that surround me. You can count on me to get the job done and the result will never disappoint. To talk about hobbies I love literature, ballet, the sea, and learning about foreign civilizations. I must note that I speak fluently three foreign languages and I have not yet decided to stop. To summarize it all I’m a work enthusiast who is always anxious and ready to have fun at any time. Once again, I am Greek and Greeks never sleep.

Luckily or unfortunately -only time will tell- when we were only 15, we met in a typical cold classroom. At first, we were classmates and to be more accurate Fenia was the victim of our relationship. And what we mean by that is that Konstantinos was using her as a portable auto-correct. But through that we eventually started talking more and more, we came closer and closer, we got to know each other and although we are different in many things, we found a way to make us work. That was the birth of our friendship! We both pursue with passion our dreams, we are extremely ambitious and of course, we share a common love for literature and writing. Fenia became my support even when I didn’t know I needed it. Konstantinos became my wall to shout at and tell every little stupid thing that bothered my mind.

Just a year ago when we were still in lockdown, we wrote our first piece together. It was about the 200th anniversary of the Greek Revolution and we were both shocked by how good it turned out. Our styles of writing completed each other. Who would have guessed? And then Konstantinos found Medium. Long story short we were thrilled about all the possibilities and we decided to start as soon as possible. On the 21st of May 2022, we published our first article. And so, the journey began! Read our articles and be ready to discover our world!

That’s US! M&Z.

How to reach us on social media? Hmm, I think that we only use Instagram, so please add us there! Our accounts are;

  • @mitrakaskostas
  • @fenia_zikou

--

--

M&Z
About Me Stories

We paint and write the art of human emotions, accomplishments, and failures at a social, political, and scientific level. Join us on this journey…