Beer, Deer, and Revelations

An Academic Odyssey

Phantom Scribe
About Me Stories
3 min readOct 16, 2023

--

Photo by Artur Aldyrkhanov on Unsplash

Growing up as an only child was far from easy. While many assume that being an only child is synonymous with being the “apple of my eye,” my reality was quite different. I spent my formative years in a turbulent household, and the loneliness I experienced was beyond imagination. Although I was fortunate to have a father who treated me like a best friend, there were certain aspects of my life that I couldn’t discuss with him.

As a student, I consistently struggled with poor grades. My disinterest in academics was evident in my performance. Even though I grew up in a bilingual household, I primarily communicated in English. However, my spelling skills were horrendous. I vividly remember my inability to distinguish between the letters ‘B’ and ‘D,’ resulting in embarrassing mistakes. I quite often would write “Dat” instead of “Bat”.

Imagine a first-grade student writing “Beer” instead of “Deer”. Oh, the look of horror on my teacher’s face!

By the time I reached the fourth grade, my teachers realized I needed extra help. I was transferred from my regular English class to one-on-one sessions designed to improve my skills. I was fortunate to have a patient and caring English teacher who helped me overcome my spelling challenges.

But it did not matter. My interest in academics was still quite poor. Surrounded by other students who seemed to excel, I constantly felt inadequate, and this was reflected in my grades. As an only child, the attention I received for my academic shortcomings was particularly daunting, especially after every report card. Despite believing I had some aptitude for writing and genuinely enjoying it, I couldn’t help but notice others outperforming me. I realised that maybe focusing on some other area would be far more beneficial for me. I never really gave writing another thought, until…

…Until, an accidental twist of fate led me to apply for a triple major course, one of which was in English. And, I only found out during the personal interview! (Imagine the terror on my face when the interviewer asked me how I would manage English Literature with the other majors).

You must be wondering; how I missed such an important thing. Even I wonder the same. But, let me tell you, it was the best thing that has ever happened to me. Till date.

I was fortunate enough to be selected for the course, but I didn’t have high hopes for myself. I decided that I would rather focus on doing well in the other two majors. However, life has a way of surprising us.

Things changed. I gave myself the opportunity, and I ended up exceeding my expectations.

As a single child, my words were always something I had to keep to myself. I never wanted to burden others with things that worried me. My ideas, my thoughts, and my opinions have always been locked away in the recesses of my mind, yearning for someone to listen.

My biggest mistake had always been underestimating my abilities through constant comparison. Throughout my days in school, it was always “them versus me” rather than “present me versus past me.” I had never considered the importance of personal growth.

The moral of my story is clear: comparison is the thief of joy. It robbed me of my happiness for far too long.

And now, I find myself at this moment, where the child within me is overjoyed to have the opportunity to share.

--

--

Phantom Scribe
About Me Stories

I'm a student with a passion for words and stories. I'm excited to share my thoughts and ideas here! :)