About Me — Adam Eyves

Adam Eyves
About Me Stories
Published in
5 min readJun 16, 2021

--

Self-portrait of Author

In the beginning, there is me. In blackness. And there is a heartbeat. Then my world emerges with a burst of light and a slap on my ass. Lungs filling, I cry, not understanding. There is a lot of fuss about me. Giants making strange noises.

My world then expands to my mother’s bosom. Soft. Warm. Comfortable. Secure. Satisfying. I discover the ceiling above my crib with its dangling mobiles of teddy bears. I listen to the tinkling sounds of a music box. The mosaic of my surroundings fills in with new and beautiful things. I crawl, then walk, then ride my trike. I discover the yard, birds, the cat, the swing, the neighborhood, other playmates.

Rules added. So many rules. “Don’t do that. Don’t go there. Don’t touch this. Don’t say that. Don’t act that way,” followed by much hesitancy and emotional hurt. I am young. Naïve. Chastised. Intimidated. The big people know everything. They have all the answers. So, I do not argue. Much.

School. My awareness blossoms. I discover a world outside my birth town. Books. New ideas. Wonderful places. History. Art. Music. Religion. I meet classmates, make friends, some enemies. Conflict. I have to share the ball. I have to be kind to others and get good grades that meet blurry school standards. There is laughter. Games. Bullies. Tears. Playground hierarchy. Sports. Fighting. Factions. Who is right? Who is wrong? Where do I…

--

--

Adam Eyves
About Me Stories

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.