Creativity is just connecting things.

Margarita S.
About Me Stories
Published in
2 min readJan 31, 2023
The photo was taken by Marija Yudina in Valencia. 2022.

Many times in my life I’ve heard things like: “Oh, we love your art! You are so talented! You should have pursued a career in art!” and “why would you do this if your profession is very scientific? Art won’t give you financial stability.”… many arguments favour different sides of my life’s scenario.

I appreciate that there are many opinions around me and I also appreciate that if a big part of me is artistic, I should do it anyway. So I do. I am trying to be creative because it brings me joy and hopefully joy to other people.

To me, being creative means allowing myself to be free and experiment with my imagination, thoughts and even dreams.

I think that it can be difficult to get started. Sometimes we feel like we don’t have permission to act. It’s always easier to give up before you start whilst listening to all those demotivating comments and just to give up.

As people, we are born with the wherewithal to be creative and the need to express ourselves. Some express themselves through their clothes, some through songs they write, and some through art.

Too often we quit too fast or don’t even start doing what we want as it seems too risky and insecure. But we should remind ourselves that those fears are nonexistent if we don’t even give them a go. It’s good to try. It’s very satisfying. It makes you feel more confident and content.

There definitely will be those who will like what you do and will support you.

“Creativity is just connecting things.” ~ Steve Jobs.

--

--