Finding My Way Back from Wrong Guidance

Beyond Others’ Influence

Katrin Petautschnig
About Me Stories
2 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

coffee for your soul by Katrin

Most people have their direction dictated by others: by parents, partners, friends, teachers, and the media.

They all tell you what’s good for you and what’s not, what profession will bring you money and which won’t, what plan you need for it, and how much security that choice will give you.

I remember very well who set my direction and which people demotivated me.

Sometimes it was little things, like people telling me that I should stop dreaming about wanting to go to the US after graduation. Thank God, I did it anyway.

As someone always having big dreams, it was not easy to push through despite others’ comments.

However, a business education was always considered safe, regardless of my interest in it.

It was certainly a decision driven by external control and resulting in dissatisfaction.

I didn’t know that back then.

How could I?

It’s not the norm to explore one’s talents and passions.

The norm looks different.

Many plan their routes far in advance.

Graduating with the best grades they can get.

Three years for a bachelor’s, two years for a master’s, then three years at company XY because it looks great on the resume. Doesn’t matter if they like the job or not.

I’ve met many such people, and they all had one thing in common: they were very dissatisfied.

I even found myself in such a situation. You get angry, tired, and you don’t even know what is wrong.

it’s important to know what drives you.

What within you desires change and propels you forward?

Answer the following questions for yourself:

What drives you?

What motivates you?

What is it within you that seeks this change? And why?

Everyone is driven by something different.

Everyone has different wishes, dreams, hopes, and fears. What is it for you? What drives you? What do you want from this life? How do you want to feel? Where do you see yourself?

Your why is not necessarily your calling.

Your why is simply your personal drive. And everyone has a different drive.

Your why (why you want what you want) is the most important thing in these times. It keeps you afloat when things get tough.

Your why stands above your problems and challenges.

In it, you will always find the energy to keep going.

Have a nice day,

Katrin

If you want to become the best version of yourself, and life a more intentional life, this newsletter is for you!

Subscribe | a Cup of Coffee for your Soul by Katrin (beehiiv.com)

--

--