About me-Oumayma

Give Yourself a Try “Why not”

Oumayma
About Me Stories
3 min readApr 14, 2024

--

Photo by me in Geneva, Switzerland.

ABrief Description About Me

I was born into a simple family where relationships were the most important thing, culture was reflected in daily behavior, money was important for food and education, and if someone was sick, we took them to the hospital. We had enough to get by, but not much more. In the mornings, my mother would prepare us for school with a breakfast of bread, tea, and some oil — not rich, but healthy. Before we left, we always remembered to kiss our parents goodbye. My brother and I would walk for 15 minutes to our school, which was large and well-decorated with nature-themed paintings in spring colors. It was a peaceful environment that helped me breathe and meditate.

Since elementary school, I’ve been fascinated by words with complex meanings, but I never saw them written down because I didn’t know how to write with a pen. After morning classes, my brother and I would go back home for lunch, where my mother would traditionally prepare delicious Moroccan dishes. Then we would head back to school, where life was competitive and boring. Every day, I would eagerly anticipate watching my favorite cartoon, “The Girl of the Wind,” which was about a poetic girl [1]. I saw myself in her and wanted her life and way of living. But the cartoon would always end, and I would be left wanting more.

[1] Emily of New Moon (TV Series 2007) — IMDb

At 14 years old, I started writing prose and poetry in Arabic, even though I was studying in a scientific branch. My philosophy teacher recognized my talent, but I didn’t understand what she meant when she said I had a “precious hobby” because I didn’t know that writing was an art. I was an introverted girl with little self-confidence, doing things simply because I knew how to do them. I had many unanswered questions.

Eventually, I went to college, where I had to leave my family and live alone for the first time. Though I wasn’t sociable, the loneliness inspired me to write. I was thirsty for creative expression but lacked the confidence to share my work. I kept all my poetry and prose in my notebook and on my phone. But when I left for France to study for my bachelor’s, I found the courage to share my words with a close friend. She was a reader who didn’t necessarily know if my work was good, but the fact that someone was reading my words brought me joy.

Today, I’m doing my PhD in engineering and writing in Arabic, English, and French. I’ve learned that words can be written and felt, either when we hear them or when we read them. The key to sharing our words with others is through publishing. People can’t hear us if we don’t talk to them, just as they can’t read our work if we don’t write in a way that is accessible to them. That’s why I’m writing and publishing this article on this platform.

By Oumayma Elmaalouf.

--

--