It’s Been 2 Months Since I Quit Instagram. Here’s How My Life Shifted!

And why I celebrate it every day.

Anuj Sarita
About Me Stories

--

Photo by Sam 🐷 on Unsplash

On the midnight of 31st May 2023, I made a decision.

To quit Instagram forever.

And it has to be one of the most amazing decisions I ever made.

Instagram never made sense to me. People share stuff just to be validated by their followers. Comparisons are made. Numbers are given enormous value.

Especially after my crush blocked me(press F to pay respects), there left no reason for me to be there. I followed only a handful of people and didn’t share anything at all.

But something made me quit Instagram 3 years later than I intended.

That’s one thing we are all addicted to, weakens our attention span and ruins our dopamine.

Yes, You guessed it right.

Reels. Instagram Reels.

The ultimate distractionapalooza!!

In August 2020, when there was no reason for me to be there on Instagram, there came a wave of short-form content as reels.

And I got hooked.

Not just the reels, but it was the addictive build of Instagram which wants you to stay on the app as long as possible.

--

--

Anuj Sarita
About Me Stories

Stories that inspire change. Thoughts on human nature & society with some personal stories to make you feel like home :)