What Happens When I Take THE RISK?

Home to self awareness

F. Faheema
About Me Stories
3 min readJul 13, 2024

--

Image from Workbook Creative, Inc (Pinterest)

Do you remember the first time that you did something out of the ordinary? Or the first time you stood up for yourself? Or the things you do multiple times, but each time feels like the first time? Personally, these moments take time to fade away from my memory. These are unknowingly etched in my heart.

When I look back now, there are many moments that have changed me. It may be little for some and huge for others. What you may perceive from situations may not be the same as to what I may perceive. I call this “one’s revolutionary mind”. If you know me, you would have definitely come across my lexicon;)

It was in my childhood; I took my first risk. The risk of lying. You heard me right. The first time I told a lie was a huge thing for me as a child. My parents are the epitome of moral values. Me and my siblings were raised around those values. We had our own versions of right and wrong. Lying was a big no. I remember my nervousness and panicked heart when I uttered that lie. I felt disgusted. Then eventually lying became normal to me. But each time my heart regretted it. This regret piled up to form a mountain and during my teenage years I told my parents the truth. I did my wrong right. The response I received shocked me. My parents cracked up and consoled me. I was relieved at last. Lying was at the end forsaken.

This may sound silly for some but the changes I have up to this day are profound. Mindful speech is one of them. I learned that the things that are engrained in us at a young age last long. The power to preserve it lies in our hands. This risk was a bad one but ended up being great with the right lessons.

Growing up, taking risks became natural to me. The thought scared me, but it was challenging. It invoked my spirit. It was sort of an adventure. It built my courage and molded me into a woman who knew her ups and downs. Some have shaken my heart that I’ll never forget the feeling. Others were amusing which lightened my soul.

Let me give you a glimpse of my latest risk. The risk of learning a new language. Now again I say it is according to a person who sees it as such, and I am one of them. Learning a new language for me is like diving deeper into the sea in search of unknown treasures. The thought of delving into an unknown territory is scary. Learning a new language is like encountering my fear, the fear of getting lost but, at the same time it seems self-evolving. The intricacies of the language blow my mind. I start living in a whole new world. When someone asks me a question and waits for my answer, I end up trying to translate their question instead of giving an answer. Yeah, I know absurdity is at its peak. Also, it may seem weird for some but at times letters revolve around my head and I try figuring it out amongst my beloved family who are busy planning on what special to cook. I seem normal to the ones who see but my little mind is busy playing soccer trying to reach the goal.

Amongst all the chaos, I realize a lot is happening within me than outside. A beautiful version of myself is in progress when I am praying for one. It’s necessary to be in the moment to remain focused. To cherish is to also let go of the rest. And when mindfulness is embraced, tranquility descends.

No matter whether the risk you take is famous or infamous, stay firm on your belief and hold prayers close because this is your journey, and you are transcending within. Forget not to explore with all your heart and surely you will see the light at the end of the tunnel.

--

--