Why I Gave Up $187,000 To Pursue My MBA

A candid story to business school. All views are my own.

Melissa Chanthalangsy
About Me Stories

--

Simon Business School MBA Class of 2020. Source: Author.

I spent $47,000 on three letters behind my name.

Melissa Chanthalangsy, MBA.

I gave up another $140,000, two years’ worth of my previous salary, to become a full-time student after four years in the workforce.

I didn’t know exactly what I wanted to do or who I wanted to be when I went to business school.

At the age of 25, I worked a stable government job, which meant a comfortable salary, four weeks of paid vacation, a pension fund, health, vision, and dental insurance.

I worked at City Hall as a project manager, data analyst, and communications attaché in a small Western New York city.

My kind, competent manager took me under her wing and treated me with consistent, daily respect. I adored my boss and I cherished my colleagues, the best team in the department.

I learned and gained experience in a low-stress environment.

I managed the installation of charging stations to supply electric vehicles. I oversaw the replacement of new LEDs to light up roads, parking garages, and public libraries. I interviewed contractors…

--

--