About running (always)

Yasunaga
About Running
Published in
6 min readOct 7, 2020

--

I must confess I was very sceptical about how Virgin London Marathon went about in dealing with the 2020 40th edition. I felt it took them a long time to decide, and announce, what was for me quite obvious, that the normal race as we’re used to seeing it would not go ahead, and that a closed circuit with a bunch of elites would be the only possible solution.

I criticised them for punishing the every day runner in how late information was made available, making it hard to prepare for the distance should it go ahead, as well as the hoops they made us jump through for qualifying again for the next year’s race. Not even to mention the extra money they constantly asked for just to run around virtually.

I felt completely deflated and disillusioned with the event and I disengaged completely from any attempt they made to sell the new format as a “success”, given the circumstances. I did not understand why anyone would even want to pay more money to cover a distance without the distinctive elements that make the marathon what it is. The crowds, the anticipation of a race, the morning routine, the doubts, the iconic course, race strategy, etc.

I, personally, didn't train for the event and preferred to focus on shorter distances (3000, 10k and HM), leaving out hard, marathon specific, sessions and dedicating more time and energy to shorter, faster workouts.

I ran the Folkestone Half the Sunday before and managed to get a London 21 qualifying time of 1:14:01 in pretty dire conditions. I didn't set out to get a qualifying time, instead I just ran to do the best I could on the day. I don’t necessarily think I did that, as I could have potentially pushed a bit harder the first 10km but, as I mentioned, given the weather conditions on the day (and a criminal steep hill near the finish), I can’t be too dissatisfied with the effort.

So when it came to October 4th I didn't know what I was going to do. I had paid for the virtual race but I had no intention of covering the distance on the day. After all, I signed up for another half marathon the following Saturday (6 days to recover), and I seriously lack proper marathon training, so instead I decided I would run chunks of other people’s marathons and hopefully help them with pacing, carrying stuff for them, etc.

I had lined up 3 runners I thought would be great to help and I also wanted to fit something in for me, didn’t know exactly what but something in the way of a decent workout.

Since I was not running or racing a marathon, the night before I decided to go for a 45' run (slow) just to keep my weekly volume respectable, and clearly not really prioritising any kind of rest. I also decided, the following morning, to only have some coffee and a piece of toast in the way of pre-event fuelling. Not really ideal for marathon running but as far as I was concerned I was only going to do maybe 20km-25km.

And then, as I started driving down to Norman Park, I started spotting familiar faces wearing their race bibs, running on the roads in the rain. At first I thought it was unnecessary for people to put themselves through that; what’s the point right? It’s cold, windy, raining and it’s early! Why would you do that if you don’t have to.

I got to Norman Park and I immediately got goosebumps. Literally. Even before I got a chance to get out of the car at least 20 runners in various groups ran past me. Their faces or concentration, determination and focus. Dressed in racing gear, looking at their watches to make sure they were on pace,… I suddenly understood.

It was never about corporate, money making organisations or about ticking a box for a medal. It was always about running. Always.

I had never seen Norman Park like that. Even in the cold, wet, miserable conditions there were dozens of people running and dozens more shouting and supporting. It felt great! I decided not to wait any more and join my first group.

I joined them at km 21, so I had 21.2km to do. I decided to keep my jacket on (it was COOOLD!) and then got into pace right away.

It was great being able to help Ian with pacing duties, about 3'58"/km for that final half marathon. Trying to block as much of the wind as possible in the downhills and help carry the pace in the up hills.

Every time we ran past the two main cheering groups we naturally, without even realising, picked up the pace. Very similar to what happens in the actual London marathon when you go past a big supporting crowd with loud music on.

I also took it upon myself to pick up bottles and gels if required to make that task even easier for Ian. I didn't have to worry about energy waste so could afford to sprint ahead or carry bottles for a while. I loved it!

In the end great effort from Ian to get himself a 2:46 for the full distance. When he finished, I stopped to congratulate him for a few seconds but then decided to carry on myself. Those 21.2km at 3'58"/km felt like a lovely warm up, so I thought I’d try to get 10km done at what would have been my own marathon pace (around 3'30"/km).

The heart rate went from 147bpm (HRR72%) at 3'58" to 162bpm (83%) for the 10k at 3'30" and in both cases the heart was steady, no upward trends. Very happy with that!!

The 10k at marathon (ish) pace was a bit surreal as I think it’s the only time I will be able to do a session around Norman Park with so much support. Every time I went past the crowds I got an awesome cheer. After the 10k in 35:04 my calf muscles started noticing the effort. It was, after all, about 31.3km in 1h59m with a piece of toast, a coffee and a sip of lucozade all morning.

As I started winding down to join my second group of the morning I checked my phone to realise Kate (my final pacing job for the morning) was about to arrive at the park any minute so I ran up to meet her.

We completed another 13.9km together for her to finish the marathon distance (in 4h49m, so proud!). That put me on 45.2km for the morning.

The calf muscles welcomed slowing down but it was still some hard work to get up to 45km at 7'/km pace. Specially after the 31km workout.

It’s truly amazing how my view on the day changed so much by absorbing the true essence of the day. Running at its best!

A mix of different abilities, experience, ages, pace, personal stories,… with wonderful crowds of friends and families supporting all runners. The messages of encouragement and support every time runners went past each other, the camaraderie, the unspoken understanding of the task at hand, a beautiful morning of running and a day to remember!

When I think running has very little surprises left to show me, it just goes and opens my eyes as to why it is, for me, the greatest sports of all.

Well done to everyone who ran and/or walked on the day! This is what running is all about and I’m so glad to have that in my life.

Now, let’s focus on getting that half marathon PB!!

Happy running everyone!

--

--

Yasunaga
About Running

Recreational runner. Sub 2:35 marathoner and still going.