About the quiet work

Yasunaga
About Running
Published in
3 min readJun 17, 2021

It has been a while since my last post. The way I manage this publication is very similar to the way I work (paid or unpaid), I don’t stress about periods of downtime and I maximise periods of inspiration.

It’s no secret I am a big fan of Brad Stulberg, Steve Magness, Alex Hutchinson and other writers/bloggers with a wealth of knowledge in the running world. I share a lot of their views and often find myself quoting them. And even though I have my own opinions and don’t always agree with everything they share, I completely understand and relate with their approach on training, coaching, work and life in general.

The reason I bring this up is because lately I have naturally found a lot of similarities in the values, I feel, are important in running or training and in how we conduct ourselves in life and I wanted to put my thoughts down on paper.

Being from the south of Europe I feel I naturally have some firm beliefs and, on occasion, I can come across as passionate and strong in putting them across. This, I sense, is more a way of wanting to make my views clear for others to comprehend but without an expectation to be agreed with. For the most part, I take more pride in the logic and the argument used than in the actual point being made (with some clear cut exceptions).

Having said that, I have also found myself, many times, without an opinion on an issue mostly due to the lack of knowledge on that topic, or the awareness of its complexity, making it difficult to have an absolute view and being rather more persuaded by the nuances and the need for dissecting or breaking down the issue into smaller, perhaps, more digestible chunks of information. Not sitting on the fence but seeing discrepancies or conflicting points that make it almost impossible to have single line of thinking.

By now you’re probably thinking what that has to do with running or with the title of the post (The quiet work). I’m getting there.

The same way I advocate for stress + rest = growth in running, I also see that the way we conduct our training and our values in the public view is important and can follow the same pattern.

  • The “stress” part of the equation is when we talk to others about running, in coaching form, in an informal way, when part of a running club or bring up whatever topic we want to discuss. We need to do it with a purpose, with respect, understanding who our audience is and always trying to generate value. Value in the shape of knowledge, happiness, kindness, support, etc.
    That takes effort. It takes control. Like when we do 800m reps. We must dedicate the right level of focus and apply the right amount of effort to get those benefits.
  • The “rest” part of the equation is the time we know to stop the stress. The work needs to be assimilated. By the body when running but by others or yourself after having been stimulated intellectually. The period of reflection, of learning, of contemplating. We let the information sink in and we take our time to ponder. We need to be mindful of overloading the body in training and we need to be mindful of the weight of our words/views onto others and onto the arena they’ve been shared.
    Overstressing a point without measure is likely to backfire and cause the opposite effect.

The title of the post makes reference to that quiet work we do when we get on with the task at hand, in the background, without generating attention around it. The statement is made by simply working on the right things at the right times without dressing it on social media or without the need for it to be overstated, overexplained or “sold” to anyone.

Often people can see through the tainted glasses of marketing techniques and overexposure of products and/or opinions.

I’ve possibly mentioned in previous posts that there are no shortcuts in running. You either put in the work or you don’t. It’s the same with knowledge, work and expertise, if you don’t invest and cultivate, nothing will grow. And very soon you will be found out.

PS. In other news, I am truly enjoying spending more quality time at the track being humbled by a bunch of young 1500m runners! Regardless of what times I am able to achieve in the next few 3,000 and 5,000 meter races, I am really enjoying working on my speed with an honest group of young runners. Unadulterated track fun!

--

--

Yasunaga
About Running

Recreational runner. Sub 2:35 marathoner and still going.