Lakeem Garretson
About South
Published in
1 min readOct 14, 2014

--

Blackout Doc: Advice to Soldier…When God Calls…

The link to the original document: http://docsouth.unc.edu/imls/royal/royal.html

These are some of the things the Confederate soldiers were hearing to encourage them to support the Confederate States and the Civil War. I did a blackout version only of “What Must Be Done When God Calls” at first. But, when I looked at what initiated this passage, I came across “Advice To Soldiers,” and I decided to blackout this one also because of it being more of the precursor. Both writings speak to the spiritual welfare of the soldier and what he must do to gain salvation. The orginal works take time getting to the point: lots of verbiage in between. My blackout version has no filters and tells the message like it was intended to be heard.

--

--