Blackout Poetry

Lauren King
About South
Published in
6 min readOct 8, 2014

--

Mildred B. Hanes at the dedication of the Robert March Hanes Building at Research Triangle Park, 1960.

From: Capt. Robt. M. Hanes
113 Field Artillery
American Exp. Forces.

To: Mrs. Robt. M. Hanes
103 George St.
Goldsboro, N.C.
U.S.A.

One letter from a collection of wartime correspondence between North Carolinian newlyweds: Capt. Robert M. Hanes’ and his wife Mildred, while he is stationed in France in 1918. The blackout poem created is an attempt to invert this letter’s subject, the writer’s affection for his wife, and his rather unaffected, if not pleasant descriptions of the death, combat and battlefields that he is facing daily and therefore telling his wife about.
Ultimately I wanted the letter’s love and excitement of two apparently unrelated subjects, for his wife and his combat participation to be retooled as a heartfelt defense for romantic quarrels, and one man’s acknowledgement and idealization of them as both a part of life as well as what makes life such an “exciting and wonderful experience.”

To do this I isolated words to make it appear that the writer, Capt. Hanes (or Rob), first begins with a sort of apology for an argument they may have had: “My Precious One, We come from a big offensive.” But in the next line the writer switches his tone from repentant to sentimentally obstinate. In the spirit of “love/hate couples” those that seem to thrive on bickering, Hanes feels pride about the offensive he and his wife went through, and see’s it as a “wonderful experience, we fought all night and all day.” Going further with this sentiment, the writer recounts their past skirmishes as though driving through battlefields. Only realizing now how beautiful, or “picturesque,” the literal carnage of “shell holes, wreckage and some dead,” can appear as pleasant left overs from their symbolic wars. The writer then consoles and proactively advises his wife to let these sad things thru because they, as a couple, have left this “sector and are on [their] way to another.” He reiterates this again on page three for emphasis. But in the end what the writer is truly devoted to is slipped in. In his final words, the writer appears to have consoled himself, settling on thoughts of “happiness and love”, in anticipation “for the night’s move,” or rather, for his next combat orders.

First edition, 2002 ca. 130 K Academic Affairs Library, UNC-CH University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2002.
(collection) Robert March Hanes Papers (#4534). Selected letters, 1917–1918 Robert March Hanes. 113 p., page images.
Manuscripts Dept., Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Above: Pages 1 & 2; Below: Pages 3 & 4

Somewhere in France
Sept. 19 [written over as 16], 1918.

My Precious One,
We came from / a big offensive. I say big, it was small, but / I was very proud to take part in it. / It was a wonderful experience, we fought all night and all day /

Page 2

We went right through and over battle fields / but I had not the slightest idea of how it all was until I saw: / with all kinds of shell holes, wreckage and some dead, / the whole scene was very picturesque. / We have had several very sad things / happen but we must of course expect this; / let them thru as we have left that sector now and are on our way to another /

Page 3

I have seen a little of every thing now. / We have been shelled with gas, / been bombed by airplanes / and most everything else. / It is a very exciting life and a wonderful experience. /

Page 4

My precious, / my thoughts and dreams, / for the time, / will all be / of love and happiness; / to get ready for the nights’ move. /

Devotedly,
Rob

The Original:

Somewhere in France
Sept. 19 [written over as 16], 1918.

My Precious One,
I have not had a chance to write you before in over a week I guess. I have no idea of time now at all. Someone said it was the 16th so I am taking their word for it. We came from the position that I last wrote you from to take our place in the line for a big offensive. I say big, it was small, but the first All American offensive so I was very proud to take part in it. My battery was the most forward one of our Regiment when the attack began. We were only a short distance behind the Infantry. It was a wonderful experience, we fought all night and all day then moved up again right behind the Infantry to go at it again.

Page 2

We drove the Germans back about five miles and in following up the Infantry we went right through and over the battle fields. I have often read and heard of how battle fields looked but I had not the slightest idea of how it all was until I saw these. The roads were lined with German prisoners being brought back, the battle fields were covered with all kinds of shell holes, wreckage and some dead. Wounded men were being brought back and the whole scene was very picturesque. Our troops suffered very slight casualties. My battery did not have a single one but we have had several in the Regiment. We have had several very sad things to happen but we must of course expect this. I am sending you some newspaper clippings of the drive. I guess the censor will let them thru as we have left that sector now and are on our way to another front.
We have been traveling all night for several nights and horses and men are pretty well done up but a day or so of rest will straighten us out again.
I got six German horses the other day, two cows and several other small things. Several of our horses died so I had to

Page 3

have some to take their place.
I have seen a little of every thing now. Airplane fights, balloons brought down, we have been shelled with gas, have been bombed by airplanes on the road and most everything else. It is a very exciting life and a wonderful experience.
I shall write you as often as I can but my letters will necessarily be far between now as we are on the move all the time and I can’t mail them even if I get them written half the time.

Page 4

I love you, my precious, with all my heart and you know that you are the dearest, sweetest thing in all the world to me. You are always in my thoughts and dreams and I long for the time when it will all be over and we can settle down to a good long life of love and happiness.
I have got to stop to get ready for the nights’ move.

All my love to you.

Devotedly
Rob

Please save newspaper

--

--