Interview with a Civil Rights Protester

Brandy Jones
About South
Published in
3 min readNov 21, 2014

--

I wanted to interview a person that has marched during the movement and also had the opportunity to see a African American president get elected into the White House. Little did I know, I just needed to look into my own back yard. My grandmother was born Ms. Phyllis on November 13, 19—, I don’t know her birth year because she never gives her real age so we will leave the year blank for now. My grandmother was born in Gainesville, FL in an old farm house by a family friend. She said during that time people had babies wherever they could deliver them. I decided to interview my grandmother because she did multiple “sit ins” during the Martin Luther King Jr., era. But more importantly, she did marches and “sit ins” while pregnant with my mother. Yes, I was completely shocked because I never knew that my grandmother was a protester; today, she is a humble Christian lady who loves being called a diva. But she took me to 1963, her friends had got on the Greyhound and rode the bus to Leesburg, FL were they wanted to ride with friends to Alabama to meet some Freedom Riders and protest a local Woolworth.

My great grandmother begged her not to go but at the time they wanted to fight for change and this is the way to do it. My grandmother was in her early twenties and was very nervous to go protest but knew it was for a better cause. They got on the bus and arrived in Leesburg, FL and they were waiting to ride to Alabama (city unknown). As her friends arrived it was 12 young men and young women ready to protest the local Woolworth. On the way to this city in Alabama, they stopped in Birmingham and went to a church gathering where she heard Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., preaching for peace, non violence and change. Grandma, were you “awed” by his voice? Yes, his voice had the ability to soothe your fears and change it into confidence. So, when he was assassinated the next year how did it make you feel? “As if I had lost a percentage of my heart.” Why? “Because I was able to witness a pioneer of the Civil Rights Movement, Dr. King.”

As I looked at my grandmother I begin to realize that it is a lot of things that she has went through, without me having any idea. She goes on to state that the Woolworth protest wasn't a success for her because they never made it into the pharmacy/cafe. She states when they arrived at the church they were unable to enter because the owners got heed of the situation and locked the doors. Instead, her friends and her stood outside singing songs and protesting until the police came and arrested them all. They were in jail until their parents could come pick them up. Therefore, my grandmother stayed in jail for almost 12 days because my great granparents had to work more shifts to get the money to make it to Alabama. I asked her how did your mother feel when she came and got you? She said she really don’t remeber but she wasn’t on punishment is all she said. I thought her story was interesting because she was able to witness triumph in the 21st century based off her past endeavors.

A photo of my Grandma

--

--