The Blackout Assignment: Photo

Brandy Jones
About South
Published in
2 min readOct 27, 2014

--

In this assignment I decided to use an image of the documentation of the South. I wanted to use Frederick Douglas because he was a writer before his time. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, was written in 1845 during the time that Douglass was held captive in slavery and fighting for his freedom. This particular behavior was unheard of from a slave; slaves were not authorized to read or write. Therefore, Douglass took a major challenge writing his narrative during a time period when African Americans were viewed as commodities and not human beings. They were perceived as property and held to that standard of “goods.” Within the book Douglass’ captures the beatings of slaves, raping of women, the destruction of the African American family and the injustices of humanity.

The photo before the black out photo

Now the “black out” photo of Fredrick Douglass

Below is the interpretation of my blackout photo; these words are my personal thoughts in-regards to the photo of Frederick Douglass.

My eyes

My pain

My wisdom

My words

I

Am

Here

Looking

Through

The

World

With

My

Eyes

!

--

--